A fascinating hidden gem in the centre of York, this large complex of buildings was in use as a convent for the Poor Clare Colletines from 1871 - 2012 when the nuns decided to move to a smaller premesis.
Surrounded by a 5m high wall, the chapel, convent, extern house and preist's house were all designed by architect William Goldie and built as a set piece in the polychromatic Gothic style so favoured by the Victorians. He was well known in the Catholic Church, and also designed St Wilfrid's Church in York.
This commission was a major piece of work won by Purcell and overseen by Lucy Stewart with a small team of assistants in their York office. The site has been taken on by developers hoping to convert the convent to high-end student accommodation. Works included detailed negotiations with the Local Authority and Conservation Officer, followed by submission of all drawings required for Planning Permission and Listed Building Consent.